Decaf

Decaf coffee is like instant mashed potatoes, a gas fireplace, a book on tape,  a stationary bike, a non-dairy creamer, a personalized form letter, imitation vanilla, watching a movie on television, artificial grass, sugar substitutes…

Caffeine (1,3,7-trimethylxanthine) is the most commonly used psychoactive drug in the world.  There is plenty of debate across the web about it’s health benefits and risks, it’s addictive properties, and it’s use as a medicine.

I gave up caffeine almost two months ago during a weekend fast.  It felt so terrible that I made a personal choice not to go back.  I get a little through the decaf coffee and occasional chocolate and I had a cup (for medicinal purposes) a couple weeks ago.

I miss it in the morning.  It was like a little shot of clarity and focus.  I have yet to find something to replace it with – muffins don’t work very well (they make me more tired).  But I can’t imagine going back on it.

We’ve been talking about breaking bad habits.  It’s made me wonder why some things I can do and others are completely beyond me.  And everyday is like starting again from the beginning – with a cup of decaf to pull me through.

Leave a Reply

