Infinity and Perspective

I tested the floor before walking in.  The lights and emptiness surrounding us on all six sides continued on forever.  The artist described the room as “…like being with God.  There’s no space in there, yet there’s the sensation of infinite space.”

Stanley Landsman (American, 1930-1984) Walk-In Infinity Chamber, 1968

Too interested at first in the engineering of the room, it took a moment for it to have an effect.  And then I needed to leave.  And it wasn’t simply the reminder of our smallness in the cosmos but also the notion that I should be doing more to understand it all, know everything I can possibly know, and impact it – somehow. But it never ends.  And where to begin?

On our holiday visit to the Milwaukee Art Museum, I preferred the exhibits on perspectives.  (Which I suppose could be argued to include everything.)  I like the idea that if you look at something the right way – the picture comes together.  You just have to find the way that makes sense.  You have to be willing to explore, be patient and open to discovery.

One thought on “Infinity and Perspective

  1. Phenomenal post!
    “I tested the floor before walking in. The lights and emptiness surrounding us on all six sides continued on forever.”
    The opening sentences gave me chills, likely because I know exactly how you felt. There is a similar exhibit at the Phoenix Art Museum…a small room with mirrors on all sides, a reflective floor, and hanging LED lights that change color (You Who are Getting Obliterated in the Dancing Swarm of Fireflies by Yayoi Kusama). It’s an overwhelming and beautiful experience and I think you explained it perfectly.

    -Erin

Leave a Reply

