Taking and Teaching

I was excited to be taking class yesterday, the first class in a long time in which I could simply be a student.

But it fell a little flat.  Focusing on what I couldn’t do, didn’t remember and all the minor aches, set me back.

Later that evening, I taught the beginners family class and we ran through the same class outline that I had taken in the morning.  Not so surprisingly, it felt much better.

I couldn’t worry about anything other than helping the students get what they needed.  And I realized that my biggest problem with the morning class was that I wasn’t giving enough.  Even with the best instructor you are only going to get back what you put into it.

Leave a Reply

