Fifteen (Monday’s Minute of Meditation)

In Martial Arts we use meditation as a way to bring focus. We sit for a few moments at the beginning of every class to let others things go and concentrate on now.  I am nervous and wary when I meditate.  I tense. I tap.  I twitch.  I much prefer a moving meditation – on my bike riding the path along the lake.  But the best thing about meditation is that there is no wrong way, you simply need to find one that is best for you.  And, of course, practice.  And breathe. It doesn’t need to be extensive.  I find that even if I only take two or three minutes, at the start of a class, before beginning to write, when I first wake in the morning or as I am preparing for sleep – I feel better and the next time I try, it is a little easier.

So, take a deep breath in through your nose and hold it.  Slowly blow it out your mouth. Do it again…

Go back to when you were fifteen.  It’s a hard year to remember.  The age not as childish as fourteen but not as significant as sixteen. It is still wanting help but at the same time wanting to do everything for yourself.  You push away and then wonder why no one is around.  You are crowded and alone, knowing nothing and everything all at once.  You are sitting with the children when you want to be taken seriously, then they sit you with the adults when you want to play.  We start recognizing where everything is deficient while still feel unable to do anything about it. There is the juggling of school, friends and parents.  It is almost an entire year of waiting and discovery.  What is going to happen next? Who am I and who am I going to be? What do I want?  What am I allowed? How long am I going to have to wait?  There are endless why’s and why not’s. The limitations of time are incomprehensible.  It is a year of anticipation and growth with countless paths to try.  There are so many things to learn and people to learn from.

Think about who you were then and who you are now.  Try not to judge.

What can you keep and what can you let go?

What can you bring back into now and make tomorrow better?



Leave a Reply

