Happily Ever After (Monday’s Minute of Meditation)

My martial arts class begins and ends with meditation.  I feel as if I’m doing it wrong but my Sabonim assures me that there is no wrong way to meditate.  You find your way.

I wall everything up.  It is empty, desolate. I let everything in.  It is crowded, loud. I try not to fidget and think about my breath.

We know all about love.  Read the book.  Saw the made for TV movie.  Still, something is missing.

We rail at the universe, “Where the hell is our happily ever after?”

But the whole story is written by us.

How can we show more love?  If you see someone sad, be cheery. If you know someone is alone, visit. If you recognize someone bullied or put down, intervene.  Treat everyone with the respect you would like to be shown.  Smile. It doesn’t have to be complicated or require a committee to implement.

Close your eyes and conjure the faces of all the people you’ve spoken to over the past day or week.  Now try to imagine all the individuals they went on to touch.  It is in us to make sure no one falls through the cracks.

Remember we are living our ending right now.

Leave a Reply

