Giving in to the Gimp

My Sabonim, in the midst of a busy testing night, almost speeds past, but  never missing anything,  he catches me out of the corner of his eye, and pauses to whisper:

Look at how you are standing.

My right knee turns in causing that entire side of my body to cave.  It is a habit that has unknowingly sneaked into my stance, a result of injury and age.

After swallowing the knee jerk, “Why are you always picking on me?”, reaction, it made me wonder about the many things we do, without awareness or thinking.  How we continue to do them, because it easier, faster or less painful.

I drink too much coffee.

I hold my breath.

I put off doctor’s appointments.

I talk to people but avoid conversation.

Everyone has a list.  It’s good to have someone, who in a supportive way, helps you take stock of where you are and where you could be.  But if you don’t have that, do it for yourself.

Figure out where you need to realign yourself.  Let go of the excuses and countless reasons why.  Don’t give in or up. Drop your shoulders.  Lift your head.  Straighten your spine.  Breathe.  Afford yourself time.  Be proud of you efforts. Make it better.

Leave a Reply

