If (Monday’s Minute of Meditation)

The mind wanders.  And I like to imagine.  It is often preferable to now.

But we use meditation to help us be present in the moment.  Focus and concentrate on the immediacy of our self.

Many practices will make use of a mantra.  A word or phrase repeated that helps you clear drifting thoughts, center your mind and control your breathing.  They make me uncomfortable, as if I am pretending to meditate but I know they work for so many people.  Perhaps I have yet to find the right word.

Run through your if’s.

If I had more time…

If I was stronger…

If I was independently wealthy…

If I could show them…

If I wasn’t so old…

If I had just a smidgen of talent…

If I was better at…

And then let them drift.  Find you and list the positive.

I am wiser…

I am learning…

I am breathing…

I am writing…

I am practicing…

…always practicing.

Leave a Reply

