At Capacity

I’ve been to those clubs.

Spandex and headphones.  Solitary stations.  Silent except for the hum of turning treadmills and occasional grunts of effort.

You would think, given my conversational reluctance, the environment would suit.

But it’s not for me.  I prefer the party.

The dojang tonight was overflowing.  There was so much energy in the room you could feel it.  That sensibility seeps into the mats and mirrors and walls so when I do have to practice on my own, I can bring it forth.

The study and practice of a martial art is unique in that it is both a private individual journey and a community coming together.  It is challenging but supportive, disciplined yet still fun.

And when you are surrounded by the positive, you can’t help but change for the better.

Leave a Reply

