Teaching

Are you an instructor?

In all affirmations there is a becoming.  I am still learning.  Every week I teach a little more.  I enjoy those moments immensely.  I like helping people – the adults just as much as the children.  It is one of the few moments I find that I can focus.  There are no conflicting priorities. Students always come first. I have a present, pressing task and can let everything else go and think about someone else.

I like to imagine that I am good at it.  That I have something to offer that they might not get from a different instructor.

Old friends and family members are sometimes perplexed at my present career.  I could do something else.  But I don’t want to.  I didn’t go into law so I could make money.  I wanted to help people.  I wanted to make a difference.  It may not be on the same scale I imagined in my youth but I believe in our curriculum, I know first hand how it can help and want to pass it on.

Leave a Reply

