Running in Circles

My great-uncle Joe, teasing my mother and aunt who were staying at the farm for a few weeks in the summer, cut the head off a chicken which ran around blind, until it realized it was dead.

I’ve been contemplating goals since the new year.  And feeling a little like that chicken.  There are so many obstacles.  At school, work and home nothing seems to get accomplished.  The weather shuts us all in, something new breaks, or someone gets sick.  And it’s easy to use all those things as an excuse.

So, I made myself a playlist. Titled it unoriginally: RUN.  I come to work early, plug my tablet into the main dojang speakers, crank the volume until I can feel the music, and then I start my laps.  And that one accomplishment helps me focus.

Uncle Joe was fortunate that my Great Grandmother let him keep his head, when she was told what he had done.  But I’m thankful for the proverbial connection.

And even though I’m running in circles, I’m feeling a little less blind.

 

 

Leave a Reply

